Day 44 #robyns2016summeradventure

I know that I’m a big language geek and although I never try to deny it some days my crazy love of language shines through more than others. This week in particular it seems like I was geeking out over fun language things even more than usual. #Niiĝuɡ̂imTunuu is a really cool language and so drastically different from English that it’s a really fun challenge to track all the grammatical pieces and it feels like such an accomplishment to be able to combine multiple pieces. On Thursday I managed to start using positionals (above, below, etc) with possessives (mine, yours) and even managed to get into plurals in one language session. My brain hurt a little after that particular jumping jack. To switch it up though we started learning some nursery rhymes that have been translated into Niiĝuɡ̂im Tunuu, including Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and Where is Thumbkin? Susanna, Erin, and I weren’t great at the vocabulary for Qata Hutax̂? though so we had to label our fingers so we could keep up. If only that marker lasted a little longer I might still remember the words…#itsforthelanguage #WAYKsummerAtka

Leave a Reply

